Easy Lemon Olive Oil “Viniagrette”

This isn’t really a vinaigrette, since there’s no actual vinegar in it. The acidity in the lemon mimics that of vinegar, though.  I have made a whole bottle of dressing with lemon, olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic in the past (I’ll post a recipe this next time I make a batch).  It worked out OK, but I noticed that I was purposely avoiding eating salad because it was a pain to make the dressing, bake the chicken & chop the veggies.  I know, I know, it sounds lazy.  Don’t mean to harp on this, but hypothyroidism really does sap your energy.

So, I decided to find an easier way.  When I make a salad, I put all the ingredients in the bowl, then I:

  • Squeeze 1/4 – 1/2 a lemon or lime over the salad
  • Drizzle olive oil over the salad
  • Season with salt, pepper, garlic to taste
  • Sometimes I’ll mix it up and add sage, dill, or rosemary
  • That’s it!  Yes, it’s that easy!

I realize there’s not a lot of exact measurements, but that’s how I do most of my cooking.  Not to mention that the perfect amount of an ingredient for me my be too much or too little for you.  What tastes good to me might be something you hate, so feel free to change it up to suit your own taste.  Or try something new.  You might like it!

One thought on “Easy Lemon Olive Oil “Viniagrette”

  1. […] lemon olive oil vinaigrette over the […]

    Like

Share Your Thoughts

