Vitamins/Minerals I added

After being unable to get answers from my doctors as to why I was still feeling terrible even though my blood work “normal”, I decided to research which vitamins/minerals I should to take to support thyroid function.  Once I felt I had enough information, I checked for interactions with medicines/vitamins/food before adding to my regimen (I was already taking a multivitamin, calcium, fish oil & B Complex).  I also made sure to buy high quality supplements free of gluten, dairy, soy & unnecessary additives.

What I started taking to support thyroid function:

  • Vitamins A, B, C, D, E (I recently learned I was taking too much D so I eliminated it)
  • Minerals: Calcium, Magnesium, Zinc, Iron, Iodine, Copper, Chromium Picolinate
  • Other: CoQ10, Glutathione, 5-htp
  • Tea with Ashwaghanda (an Ayurvedic herb that supports both thyroid and adrenal function)

You may notice I didn’t note how much I’m taking of each.  That’s because there is no “right” amount – it will vary by individual.  After about four weeks of taking these additional supplements, I noticed that I had more energy & less severe issues with ovulation, PMS, and menstrual pain.

I will discuss these in more detail as I write more, but for now my intention is to give you an overview of the changes I implemented.  Please note that these things did NOT replace my thyroid pill, but they helped improve my symptoms.

Share Your Thoughts

