Now Solutions European Clay Powder Review

The ingredients in the facial masque I was using before deciding to switch to non-toxic beauty products were questionable at best. The worst ones included: Butylphenyl Methylpropional (bio-accumulative, immune system toxicant), Diazolidinyl Urea (formaldehyde releaser), Methylparaben (hormone disruptor), Propylparaben (hormone disruptor), Fragrance a.k.a. Parfum (immune/respiratory/environmental toxicant), Butylphenyl Methylpropional (immune system toxicant & hormone disruptor). Needless to say once I learned what the ingredients were I decided to toss the masque!  Look up the safety of the ingredients in your products on the EWG Skin Deep Database.

When I read the book No More Dirty Looks, I learned that a safer facial masque is a dry clay powder, so that’s what I searched for while we were shopping for non-toxic products. The product I decided on is Now Solutions European Clay Masque. It comes in a little tub with a screw-on lid. You mix up only what you need at a time, so depending on how often you use it, it can potentially last quite a while. Since it’s a powder it has a very long shelf life. The cost is under $10.00, and will vary a bit by store. I’ve seen it at grocery stores, vitamin stores and of course, online.

One of the best qualities of this product is that it can be tailored to any skin type, and/or adjusted with the seasons! All that has to be changed is what you mix it with. Mix in an astringent for oily skin, water for normal skin, or oil for dry skin. The directions on the bottle tell you to mix 1 part powder with 1 part water. For me personally, I mix it with Heritage Store Rose Water and a dash of Thayers Rose Petal Witch Hazel (as a preservative). Typically I make enough for 3 – 4 uses and it keeps nicely in a small glass pot (in the picture above). In the winter when my skin is dryer, I’ll add a few drops of rose hip seed oil or Acure Argan Oil to prevent over-drying. In the summer when my skin tends to get a little oilier, I use more of the witch hazel than normal to give it the more astringent quality.

It removes impurities without over-drying (unless you accidentally use too much astringent). After I use this my skin feels smooth and clean. It’s a great at-home beauty treatment that’s effective and won’t break the bank! If you have a small pot to mix it in, you can even take it on the road in a miniature size. This is great for me because I can use my bigger product to make the travel size instead of buying smaller ones over and over. That’s expensive, not to mention wasteful and bad for the environment.

Haven’t really tried any other masques since buying this one because I love it! Hopefully if you try it you’ll love it too!  You can find it here:  http://astore.amazon.com/mycrnoli-20

As always thanks for reading!

One thought on “Now Solutions European Clay Powder Review

  1. […] great use for this is to add a few drops in a facial mask (I added some to the Now Solutions European clay powder masque I use), especially during the winter months when skin tends to get dried out.  If you’re […]

    Like

Share Your Thoughts

