Tru Melange Candle Review

The first time we purchased Tru Melange candles, pretty much everything else in our home was non-toxic.  It hadn’t been high on the priority list, though I figured it would need to happen at some point.  Most candles are made with synthetic fragrances, which had been making my allergies worse.  After reading quite a bit of research, I came to the conclusion that I needed to look for candles that were free of synthetic fragrances (read about the dangers of synthetic fragrance here).  My allergies were making it difficult to function in every day life.  Synthetic fragrances were one of the things aggravating my allergies, so I was willing to take any measure that might help that, no matter how small.  Even though I hadn’t been using the toxic candles since learning about the dangers of synthetic fragrances, I hung on to them because I always liked having candles and didn’t want to get rid of them until I had their nontoxic replacements (just in case I was in a pinch and needed to make the house smell better).

Whole Foods was where I first discovered these nontoxic candles.  They had quite a selection, and after smelling just about every single one, I picked a few favorites and purchased.  When I got home that evening, I lit every one of the candles and let them burn for a little over an hour.  At the time we were in an 850 sq ft one bedroom apartment temporarily, so there wasn’t much area to cover.  It left a pleasant odor in the entire apartment, and not much smokiness in the air when I blew them out.  We’ve since moved into a two story, 1,800 sq ft house, and when the candles are burned, the room they’re burned in has the wonderful smell of the candles.

Tru Melange Candles are made from a blend of beeswax & non-GMO soy, wicks are braided cotton (no lead!), and scented only with 100% pure essential oils.  The come in a variety of scents & sizes, including pillars & some in metal or glass containers.  They range in price from $5.49 for a small jar to $20.99 for a 3″ x 5″ pillar candle.  Not much difference in price from toxic candles, so it’s kind of a no-brainer!

Scents we purchased are:  Aphrodesia (floral w/ lemon & ylang ylang), Harmony (vanilla & peppermint), Passion (clove bud & vanilla), and Uplifting (litsea & lemongrass).  We paired Aphrodesia with passion in our bedroom (wink wink!), and Harmony & uplifting in our living room.  Both combinations compliment each other nicely.  If you want to detox your home but still want to have nice smelling candles, Tru Melange is the way to go!

I hope you found this information helpful.  As always, thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read!

One thought on “Tru Melange Candle Review

  1. […] I hung on to my candles in case of an odor emergency in the mean time.  In 2013 I found some candles made of beeswax & scented with essential oils, at which time I threw out the old paraffin wax candles scented with synthetic fragrances & […]

    Like

Share Your Thoughts

