Mahi Over Sautéed Broccoli Slaw and Spinach

Now that I’m working from home full time, meal planning has not been on the top of my priority list.  It’s definitely something I should be doing, especially with things being so busy at the theatre.  It would make it easier for my husband to stay on track since he can’t come home for lunch since we moved off base.  Not only that, it’s much easier for me to eat clean and healthy if the meals are already prepared.  There are some days where I’m in the zone on my work, but I get hungry & don’t want to wait very long to eat.

Many of my meals lately have been thought of on the fly and require minimal effort so that I can work on other things.  This meal for example, while clean and healthy didn’t require much effort on my part.  The fish cooked while I was writing a blog post.  When it was done, I decided I didn’t really feel like having fish salad again.  I didn’t feel like chopping, so I sautéed the broccoli slaw we had along with some spinach and used it as a bed for the fish.  Voila, a clean & healthy meal that didn’t require much effort!

Ingredients

  • 1 Wild caught Mahi Mahi fillet
  • 1/2 cup organic broccoli slaw
  • 1/2 cup organic baby spinach
  • Myer lemon infused olive oil (I used Sonoma Canyon brand)
  • Pink Himalayan sea salt
  • White Pepper
  • Garlic Powder
  • Dill Weed

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Coat frozen Mahi Mahi fillet with olive oil & seasonings on both sides & wrap in foil
  • Bake for 45 minutes
  • When the fish is cooked all the way through, remove from the oven & let cool while the veggies are sautéed
  • Preheat a small cast iron skillet with the lemon olive oil
  • Sauté the broccoli slaw first, then add the spinach and stir until wilted
  • Season with salt, pepper, and garlic to taste
  • Serve & enjoy

Call me weird, but I like to try to make my food look pretty regardless of whether or not anyone else will see it.  That’s why I serve the fish fillet on top of the veggies, because it looks pretty.  It keeps me from getting bored, I guess!  Clean eating can be pretty and yummy!  Hopefully that comes across in my photos.  This is something that can be duplicated with any fish.  It would make a really nice meal for one, or multiply it for a dinner party.

Hope you find this recipe helpful.  As always, thanks for taking the time to stop by!

Share Your Thoughts

