Young Living Bamboo Diffuser Review

For those that haven’t read my bio, here’s a quick history about me.  In 2009 I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism, put on synthetic thyroid hormone & told I would feel better within a few weeks.  Not only did I not feel better I felt progressively worse.  In 2012, after many doctor visits and being told “I don’t know why you still feel bad”, “it’s not your thyroid”, I’d had enough!  I decided to research what lifestyle changes I could make.  When I first started making lifestyle changes back in 2012, I did so after reading a book called “No More Dirty Looks” (available in my Amazon store here:  http://amzn.to/20Ab2LC ).  Once I got to the point where my personal care products were free of toxic chemicals, I wanted to clean up the household products.  The first thing that came to mind was getting rid of synthetic fragrances, especially since I knew they were affecting me.  How were they affecting me?  When I was using personal care products with synthetic fragrances, my jawline would break out in hormonal acne that was cystic in nature, painful & itchy.  It cleared up when I stopped using synthetic fragrances.  It recurred when my husband started using an old product that had fragrance in it.  It also recurred when I inadvertently bought a product with synthetic fragrance.  I say inadvertently because I purchased a different line by a brand that I previously bought that didn’t have fragrance & I didn’t check the label of the new product line I purchased.  When I started to break out again, I decided to check the label and you guessed it, there was “fragrance” on the ingredient list.  When I stopped using it, the acne cleared up!

One of the first things I did around our home was to pull out the plug-in fragrances and stop using traditional air fresheners.  Because I didn’t really know where to start, I simply didn’t take action in the fragrance department in our home.  I hung on to my candles in case of an odor emergency in the mean time.  In 2013 I found some candles made of beeswax & scented with essential oils, at which time I threw out the old paraffin wax candles scented with synthetic fragrances & lead wicks.

Until last year, I hadn’t really found a replacement for the plug ins.  When I attended a natural health symposium, I came across a representative of Young Living essential oils.  They had a diffuser and starter oil kit, which I purchased because I absolutely loved the scents of all the oils, even the lavender, which I normally abhor!  Things got busy and I didn’t really use the diffuser or oils much.  The exception was that I used the oil called Stress Away in a diffusing necklace to help me deal with the stress of my commute & job.

We moved off post right around the time that I left my full time job and I made it a point to put the diffuser in the living room.  It’s very modern looking with clean lines, which I love!  Since it’s visible, I’m using it quite a bit more and I absolutely love it!  My favorite scent is Thieves, because it is very spicy.  Lots of cinnamon & clove notes, which is my favorite scent of all time.  Most of the time this is the type of scent that it impossible to find when it isn’t the holiday season, but I like to use it all the time.  Because cinnamon has antimicrobial properties, Thieves oil is great to help support the immune system.  I have been battling seasonal allergies for the last several weeks so I’ve been using it a lot, and I do feel better on the days when I use it.

While the oils are expensive, they are definitely of higher quality than some of the other brands I’ve tried.  I’m  not saying that other brands are bad, just pointing out the difference in quality.  Young Living is the only company in the world that has their own farms from which they produce their oils.  The farms are available for the public to visit.  I really admire the way they do business.  I’m a fan of transparency and caring for the earth and the people on it, which aligns with Young Living’s values.  Actually I’m such a fan that I signed on to be a distributor!  Please feel free to contact me if you’re interested in trying their oils.

As always, thanks for taking time out of your day to stop by My Crazy Nontoxic Life!

2 thoughts on “Young Living Bamboo Diffuser Review

  1. Kelly Giaraffa says:

    Hey Amanda, I have been interested in essential oils, but just haven’t had the time to look into them. Is there a website I can look at the oils you are going to start being a distributor for? Date: Fri, 6 Nov 2015 18:24:54 +0000 To: k.schimmel@hotmail.com

    Like

Share Your Thoughts

