Exercise Accountability for Week Ending 11.08.15

This week I increased the weights I was using. For legs, back & shoulders I increased to 20 lb dumbbells as my heaviest weight. Since I wasn’t ready to go up 5 lbs on my arms, I added 1 lb weighted gloves & 1 lb ankle weights. I thought I ordered 2 lb each, but it was 2 lb total, so I’m going to stick with the size I bought. Mostly because I didn’t notice the weight until after I opened the package & it was destroyed. Lesson learned! When I’m ready to go up again I’ll make sure I order 2 lbs each!

After adding an extra week due to missing several workouts when I was dealing with cold/allergy symptoms, this was my final week of Block 2 of Body Beast.  Last week I mentioned that I was taking measurements & considering posting pictures of my progress. Well, I chickened out on sharing the pictures, but I did check my weight/measurements.  Since starting the program in September I have lost 3 inches & 5 lbs. I am 3 lbs from my goal weight, so this is huge! However, part of me always hopes for better progress than I get. 5 lbs is a great amount of weight to lose when you are so close to your goal weight. Even though logically I know this, I was still a little disappointed that my results weren’t happening faster. I also have to remind myself that because I have hypothyroidism my bodily functions are slower, including metabolism!  The layer of fat I have is much more stubborn thanks to Hashimotos, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to give up. I’m still seeing progress, no matter how slow. I had to stop checking my progress weekly because I know it’s going to take longer, and not seeing results each week was messing with my head. Waiting longer to check in means that I’ll see bigger changes & be encouraged to keep going.

Here are my workouts for the week:

  • Monday: Body Beast Bulk Chest – 30 minutes
  • Tuesday: Body Beast Bulk Legs – 41 minutes
  • Wednesday: Body Beast Bulk Arms – 35 minutes, practiced PiYo – 45 minutes
  • Thursday: Beast Cardio – 38 minutes & Beast Abs – 10 minutes, practiced PiYo – 45 minutes
  • Friday: Body Beast Bulk Back – 29 minutes, practiced PiYo course – 45 minutes
  • Saturday: PiYo Live Class – 45 minutes
  • Sunday: Body Beast Bulk Shoulders – 35 minutes

I spent a lot of time this week practicing for my PiYo Live class. Much of that time was building the class & marking the moves with the music. However, I did complete many of the sections multiple times to see if I would be able to remember the moves without looking at my notes. The times I noted above was the actual amount of time I spent doing moves, they do not include the time spent writing notes and marking. The first class went fairly well. My husband and one of my friends showed up, which worked out because I had trouble remembering the choreography. We all worked up a good sweat, and my friend said she’s coming back, so I consider that a win! I have more classes coming up in the next two weeks, so I can’t wait to see what happens.

As always, thanks for reading!

Share Your Thoughts

