The Importance of Buying Quality Supplements

Prior to when I began this nontoxic journey in 2012 and added several vitamins to help relieve my hypothyroidism symptoms, I didn’t think it mattered much which brand of vitamins I bought.That is, until I went to buy some vitamin C at a big box retailer and noticed a suspicious ingredient: sodium laurel sulfate! In case you don’t know, sodium laurel sulfate is a cleansing agent used to cut through grease in things like shampoo and cleaning products.  What the heck is that doing in a vitamin?  Not something I want to ingest!  Seeing that on a label for a vitamin was eye-opening.

From then on, I vowed only to buy quality vitamin supplements. Here are a few brands I feel good about recommending.

  • Now Solutions – their supplements are free of unnecessary ingredients and most are also free of many common allergens like gluten, dairy, soy, etc. Now Solutions also has a wide array of vitamins, minerals and herbs and they are sold in the most bio-available form. Prices are reasonable – although a bit higher than the junk that sits on the shelf of many big box retailers. But, remember if it’s not in a form your body can use it’s a waste of money anyway. Most of the vitamins I buy are made by Now Solutions. They also have great personal care products!
  • Solgar – another quality supplement brand. They are made in the USA, in bio-available forms, and free of many common allergens. A bit more expensive than Now Solutions, but easier to find in my area, and they have a great selection of all types of vitamins, minerals, etc.  I buy mine at Vitamin Shoppe
  • Central Market – this is a brand that is available in limited markets (I believe only in southern United States). It’s available at HEB and Central Market stores. Before we moved away from Texas, many of my vitamins and supplements were made by Central Market. They are free of unnecessary chemicals and many common allergens. Many of the supplements are also suitable for vegetarians and vegans, too.
  • Puritans Pride – value vitamin brand that also sells some snacks, personal care, and beauty items. Great if you want to buy in bulk. There’s almost always a deal that saves you money the more you buy. Because I take so many different vitamins and supplements and we don’t have a huge pantry, I stopped ordering from them as much due to our limited storage space. I still recommend using them if you have the room to store the bottles, because they offer great deals and sell high quality vitamins.

Once again I want to throw this out there:  none of these companies paid me to say these positive things about them.  If you’re going to take supplements, make sure you do some research buy the most bio-available form of the vitamin.  Otherwise your body won’t be able to use it and you will be wasting your money.   Of course, you always want to make sure to talk to your health care provider prior to taking any supplements.

I hope you found this helpful, and as always, thanks for reading!

Share Your Thoughts

